Our Very Own Stretch of the North Shore

Stayed Jun 2020
Ann S

Having our very own stretch of the North Shore for a week was so wonderful! We enjoyed June wildflowers dotting the property as well as daily sightings of deer, geese, loons, and eagles. The cabin was comfortable and just right for our family of 3 and Golden Retriever. We live to cook for ourselves during these weeks away and found all that we needed in the kitchen. Thank you for a most relaxing stay. We’d love to come back again!

North Shore Getaway

Stayed Aug 2019
Shawna M.
5 of 5 Stars

This was one of the best vacations we’ve had. Truly a home away from home!

Published Sep 2, 2019

Wonderful!

Stayed Aug 2019
Dale F.
5 of 5 Stars

Everything was wonderful, even the constantly changing lake and weather. Charlie and I were deeply sad when it was time to leave and head back to Chicago. Looking forward in returning soon!

Published Aug 17, 2019

All Good – as listed and portrayed

Stayed Aug 2019
Michael C.
5 of 5 Stars

Property was ready to go, check in via remote lockbox code was easy. Quiet days, wonderful nights with stars, and some real cold water. Kayaking was great. Bugs were livable. Flies kept at bay onshore with a good breeze. Good grocery selection at the IGA and COOP in Grnad Marais.

My own personal preference is for gas grills vs charcoal, at VRBO rentals, primarily due to simplicity. The charcoal grill works great, but for 2 people, on the 2nd night, I went to the stove sautee for the shrimp.

Owner was very attentive on making sure everything worked. Place was well equipped and very comfortable. We’ll be back next year.

Published Aug 6, 2019

Lake House

Stayed Jul 2019
Guy J.
5 of 5 Stars

We enjoyed our trip greatly on Lake Superior. Our home we rented was very nice and relaxing. It felt like home.

Great Lake view and access to the beach area was a huge plus. The home had everything we needed and was nice.

We will definitely go back next year.

Published Jul 20, 2019

Fresh air and flowers

Stayed Jul 2019
Don and M.
5 of 5 Stars

We very much enjoyed the wonderful views of Lake Superior and the splash of wildflowers from the deck behind the home. The Steeles had thought of everything imaginable for the kitchen and the bath. We also appreciated the assortment of books and magazines to help orient us for our brief stay. And our dog acted like she’d never left home. All together, it was a splendid relaxing experience. Thank you.

Published Jul 15, 2019

Repeat Renters

Stayed Jul 2019
JoLynn N.
5 of 5 Stars

Very comfortable and perfect location. The beach is heaven.

Published Jul 22, 2019

This is a very cozy cottage on the Lake!

Stayed Jan 2019
Mary S.
5 of 5 Stars

Gorgeous, walkable pebble beach Lake Superior lakeshore with a well-equipped cottage and everything you need. So much in this area to enjoy!

Published Jun 12, 2019

Great getaway!

Stayed Oct 2018
Michael M.
5 of 5 Stars

Great spot! Very comfortable! Relaxing!

Published Oct 10, 2018

beautiful

Stayed Aug 2018
Lona C.
5 of 5 Stars

Amazing

Published Oct 1, 2018

Peaceful week on the lake

Stayed Aug 2018
Sara W.
5 of 5 Stars

We truly enjoyed our week at this beautiful property. Everything we needed was in the cabin, it was clean and comfortable, and the view was spectacular! Perfect location to get to Grand Marais, great parks farther north, and parks and sightseeing south of Grand Marais, but far enough outside of the city that it was quiet and peaceful. Loved that were books and games in the house, including books on sightseeing in the area. Beach was beautiful and we were able to walk it every morning and see very few people. My 9-year-old daughter fell in love with Lake Superior and it was wonderful to see her enjoying herself as much as we did and for her to be able to play peacefully on the beach. I almost hate to tell people about how much we loved it here, because I feel like we found the hidden gem of the North Shore!! We will be back!

Published Aug 22, 2018

Fantastic

Stayed Jul 2018
Eric S.
5 of 5 Stars

Great cottage with a fantastic view of the lake. We had a great week

Published Jul 27, 2018

This place is magical- quiet and a perfect getaway from the daily noise of life!

Stayed Jun 2018
Kyle H.
5 of 5 Stars

We love this place and have made it an annual tradition. The hosts are great and respond to any needs right away.

Published Jul 12, 2018

Relaxed, secluded escape from your daily pace.

Stayed Jun 2018
Linda B.
5 of 5 Stars

Peaceful, contemplative, beautiful lake views anytime of day. Loads of activities to fill your days on or near the water, hiking numerous State Parks & nearby trails. Grand Marais is laden with a wealth of artsy shops, great restaurants & many local festivals. You might have time to signup for a class at the Folk School & learn an old skill. The cabin is well organized, clean & well equipped. Enjoyed the native flowers.

Published Jun 27, 2018

A super place to stay on Lake Superior

Stayed Jun 2018
Roger H.
5 of 5 Stars

This was our fifth visit to 12 Mile Rock, and we can’t wait to return. Each time we visit we discover new additions—internet service, art, books, and an assortment of conveniences that only owners who truly care for their guests would think of. We loved our days at the cottage (rain or shine) and walking the beach, looking for agates, and wading in the cold water of Lake Superior. The cottage is secluded and very quiet with only the occasional howling of coyotes or wolves at night. The view of the night sky is spectacular. The cottage is also perfectly located for those who want to explore nearby waterfalls, eat at the Nanaboujou Lodge, or visit the shops and restaurants in Grand Marais. We have stayed in several different places on Lake Superior but 12 Mile Rock is by far our favorite.

Published Jun 26, 2018

A peaceful piece of heaven

Stayed Jun 2018
Frederick W.
5 of 5 Stars

Our week stay was so relaxing and peaceful…saw not one other person the whole week we were on the property. The house was well stocked with everything we could possibly want. If you like silence and total darkness at night this is the place for you. Our dog was well behaved and enjoyed the throws provided so she could “veg” out on the couch with us.

Published Jun 11, 2018

Absolutely Wonderful!!

Stayed Oct 2017
Scott F.
5 of 5 Stars

My wife and I came up last Saturday and stayed through Wednesday night. The property is just great and had everything we needed. We especially loved the secluded setting and having fires on the beach. It’s nice and quiet yet close enough to run into Grand Marais if we needed anything. A big two thumbs up on this one!!! We’ll definitely be back.

Published Oct 13, 2017

Very Peaceful

Stayed Sep 2017
Tiffany S.
5 of 5 Stars

This is a great place to come and check out from the rest of the world. The view is absolutely stunning. There are so many great hiking trails near by, as well as the shore out front of the cabin. There are a tremendous amount of options for great food in Grand Marais.

Published Oct 6, 2017

Awesome Lake Superior shoreline

Stayed Sep 2017
Ward P.
5 of 5 Stars

Our stay at 12-Mile Rock cottage on Sept 5-12, 2017 was certainly what we hoped for. Walking the beach, hiking, biking, kayaking, golf, and dining at the local restaurants were all a success. There are 4 state parks, the Superior Hiking Trail, and the Grand Portage Monument (19th century fur trading post) all within a 30-min. drive of the cottage. We love to hike and it just doesn’t get any better than this place. The highlight of our trip was seeing a bear cub run in front of us on the Nanibijou Lodge property. We were floored by how fast that little guy could run. The owners do a marvelous job of furnishing and equipping the cottage and we lacked nothing. The view of Lake Superior is awesome.

Published Sep 15, 2017

Lakefront Solitude

Stayed Aug 2017
Carol G.
5 of 5 Stars

Wonderful secluded escape! The 12 mile rock cottage is a great place to unwind, kick back & relax, and enjoy nature’s beauty. Awesome deck views, comfortable surroundings, and all the comforts of home in one package. Close to Grand Marais, Grand Portage National Monument, Canadian border, numerous waterfalls (i.e. Devils Kettle, Cascade, High Falls of the Pigeon River, Kakabeka, etc.), and the Gunflint Trail. You have your own private pebble beach to the west and the Superior trail just around the bend. A true North Shore gem!! JAG

Published Aug 25, 2017

Awesome Stay at 12 Mile Rock!

Stayed Jul 2017
Alex R.
5 of 5 Stars

We spent 5 nights at 12 Mile Rock and completely enjoyed our stay. It’s remote yet close enough to town to make the drive for dinner. There are a number of state parks to explore with lots of waterfalls and views. The house was very clean and comfortable and the WiFi was very handy. We didn’t have a single issue with the house. The beach in front of the house was beautiful. We had fires there every night and the stars were spectacular. Would definitely recommend staying here!

Published Jul 31, 2017

Relaxation

Stayed Jul 2017
JoLynn N.
5 of 5 Stars

Our stay at the cottage was wonderful! The location right on the pebble beach is ideal and very private–very few hikers came through during our week there. The place is very clean and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking some meals at home. We highly recommend this place.

Published Jul 24, 2017

Very relaxing

Stayed Jul 2017
Kyle H.
5 of 5 Stars

This place is great and has become a tradition for our family. You can completely unplug. The adjacent public land is beautiful for walks on the beach.

Published Jul 12, 2017

Great place on the lake!

Stayed Jun 2017
Roger H.
5 of 5 Stars

My wife and I have stayed at 12 Mile Rock four times and we can’t wait to return. The beach is beautiful for walks—my wife found a handful of agates. We’ve seen eagles, a bear cub, deer, an otter, and two fox. Grand Marais and many waterfalls are just a short drive. The owners seem to have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and fun. The cottage is furnished with many books and games for evenings when you feel like staying inside although I prefer to sit and enjoy the spectacular view of the lake. There are even coats in the hall closet in case a cool evening catches you by surprise. We’ve stayed in many homes around Lake Superior and this is by far our favorite.

Published Jun 27, 2017

Great Getaway!

Stayed Jun 2017
Corinne W.
5 of 5 Stars

We had a great time! We got quick responses to our questions while planning. The home was clean and comfortable and the view could not have been better. We brought our two dogs who loved running around. The quiet stretch of pebble beach along Superior was beautiful, a little challenging for the dogs paws but it only slightly slowed them down. We hiked to the Pincushion Mountains and along the Superior Hiking Trail. In Grand Marais, we rented a canoe and paddled around Two Island Lake a little ways up the Gun Flint Trail. We also tried to paddle Superior but those waves can get a little dicey at times!

A great place if you want to travel with your dogs! There were crates available for when we went out to eat in Grand Marais, and plenty of room for them to run on a very quiet 1/4 mile stretch of beach (we didn’t see anyone while there). It was a nice getaway and hope to return someday.

Published Jun 15, 2017

We love Grand Marais

Stayed Sep 2016
Kristal K.
5 of 5 Stars

The location of this cabin is close to town, but also on a secluded shore of Lake Superior where you can walk right to the Superior Hiking Trail. Owners are very responsive, and even returned a lost item we didn’t know we forgot!

Published Dec 27, 2016

Great place for solitude and quiet Lake Superior shoreline

Stayed Aug 2016
Curtis G.
5 of 5 Stars

Nicely furnished, great view, 12 miles from Grand Marais. It met all of our expectations.

Published Sep 4, 2016

Amazing private spot along Lake Superior

Stayed Jul 2016
Erin D.
5 of 5 Stars

This was my first time renting a house on Lake Superior and I was not disappointed. I stayed at Twelve Mile Rock for seven nights with two friends and we found the house to be true to the listing description, with more than enough room for all of us to spend time together and alone. We loved how private the beach was (I don’t think we saw anyone else our there during our entire stay) and collected a lot of amazing rocks. The wildflowers in the yard between the house and the lake were beautiful and we saw some deer. We cooked on the grill on the deck and inside with no problems. Everything was clean and well maintained. Communication before and after our stay with the owners was a pleasure – the owners provided a lot of information beforehand on house rules, what to expect, where to go nearby, etc. We used the house as a base to explore many of the State Parks nearby. I would definitely rent here again and highly recommend it, particularly for a peaceful, relaxing trip (it’s quite remote and quiet).

Published Dec 2, 2016

Beach front cottage in a sea of wild flowers

Stayed Jul 2016
Patty M.
5 of 5 Stars

We had such an amazing time at this cottage. We were there at a perfect time when the wildflowers were in full bloom. Owner was very helpful in all ways. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The beds are very comfortable, and the beach is amazing to walk and enjoy. We met couple of hikers who were on a month hike on Lake Superior trail, but mostly we had the 2 1/2 mile beach to our very own. We had s’mores by our campfire, walked the beach every day, We had a friendly deer who visited us every night at dusk. We hiked to Devils bowl, went to Canada to get cheese, and rested! We really enjoyed the living history at Grand Portage. We stayed 7 nights so got to see several personalities of the lake. S’wene and Ole’ Pizza is amazing!! Loved the Ben Franklin store too. The fireworks were fantastic. Nanboujou is only 3 miles – make reservations early. We have already recommended this property to several of our family and friends. Just FYI – the grocery stores in Grand Marais close on Sundays. I just emailed owner and she sent us up the road to the Indian Reservation about 25 miles. That’s where we found the Grand Portage.

Published Jul 16, 2016

Complete Relaxation

Stayed Jun 2016
Kyle H.
5 of 5 Stars

This spot has become an amazing annual vacation for our family. It is a perfect setting for peace and quiet, usually we can go the week without seeing another person on the beach. Our kids can spend hours exploring the beach and outcrop area. It is located very close to several State Park areas for hiking and sight seeing. The wildflowers are so beautiful and we usually see some wildlife including deer, fox and a bear! The cabin is really comfortable and has a great kitchen area for preparing meals. It is close enough to Grand Marais to run into town if you need to, but we prefer to disconnect and unplug here!

Published Aug 15, 2016

Fantastic!

Stayed Jun 2016
Roger H.
5 of 5 Stars

This past June was our third time staying at the Cottage on the Big Lake and we look forward to coming again. It’s everything you could want and more if you are looking for a cottage on Lake Superior that’s in a great location, excellently equipped with everything you need (no TV, which is very nice), has a great beach for walking and collecting rocks and is convenient to Grand Marais (think shopping, good food, and the world’s best donuts), waterfalls and parks. The owners seem to have thought of everything, even leaving coats in a closet for guests unprepared for a cool morning. During our visit deer walked across the yard, eagles soared overhead, hummingbirds fed at a feeder on the deck, and fox barked us awake one morning. My wife and I are eager to return.

Published Jun 25, 2016

Comments from the guestbook in 2015 continued:

Stayed Sep 2015
Tim D.
5 of 5 Stars

“Great view of the lake. Nice weather & a beautiful beach. Thanks for the stay.” Sept 2015

“We are so grateful for the last week at 12-mile Rock. When we chose to have our honeymoon here, we knew we would love it, however it ended up being more amazing than we ever would have imagined. So many beautiful memories: Mornings walking on the beach, watching the sunrise and waves crash on the shore, hiking at Judge Magney Park to see the Devil’s Kettle and the beautiful scenery at Grand Portage on Mt. Rose, morning runs to town for breakfast. Must Haves: World’s Best Donuts & Omelets at the Pie Place Café. Fish & Chips at sunset – must go to Dockside Fish Market. Agate hunting after the rain. Evening bonfires on the beach. Huskies gazing out the windows daily. This setting gave us the perfect setting for reflection, peace and harmony. We will absolutely be back again. Thank you!” October 2015

“This was the second time we’ve stayed here this year, which tells you something about how much we enjoyed ourselves the first time. Our second visit lived up to all our hopes and expectations. The cottage has everything you could want…. We had great weather, walks on the beach and visits in Grand Marais. We explored different beaches and back roads. Cold morning under a pile of quilts was wonderful. Thanks again for making your place available.” June & October 2015

Published Apr 28, 2016

Great setting for time away with friends!

Stayed Aug 2015
Tad S.
5 of 5 Stars

Serene, peaceful setting with spacious, clean, comfortable home for enjoying time together. Had an awesome time cooking and enjoying good meals and wines with friends. Enjoyed warm, sunny afternoon lounging on the deck and moonlit walks on the beach. Comfortable setting, privacy and a short drive in to Grand Marais for music, ice cream and fun! Lots of space here for both younger and older folks to enjoy different recreational opportunities. Highly recommend!

Published Oct 26, 2015

More comments from the guestbook

Stayed Aug 2015
Emma S.
5 of 5 Stars

“We’ve had a lovely visit. This has been the perfect spot for us to just relax and enjoy each other. We loved watching the weather change over the lake.”

“Best family vacation ever! Thanks for the space, gorgeous inside and out!”

“Had a wonderful long weekend. Loved the walks on the beach and the hikes in the woods. The wildflowers here are magnificent! Thanks for sharing your home.”

“Our time here was lovely. We spent Tuesday hiking to Middle Falls on the Pigeon River after seeing Pigeon High Falls in MN. We enjoyed reading and relaxing and the sweet touches throughout the cabin, the needlework samplers in particular. Thanks for sharing your beautiful place. We also added several rocks to the heart collection.”

“Lovely home, lovely view….lots of rest, meditation, hikes, fishing and shopping. We’d love to come again.”

“Had a lovely time staying here! We particularly enjoyed the books, long walks down the beach and the hike to Devil’s Kettle. Hope to make it back sometimes!”

“Loved walking on the lakeshore looking for rocks. Peace and quiet were great.”

“Nice to see another side of the beautiful Lake! Thanks for opening your place up to us.”

“We had a wonderful, restful few days. We enjoyed watching the weather over the lake, the ever-changing shoreline and the beautiful fall colors. We’ll be back someday.”

“Enjoyed the wonderful space and views with our family. The hiking and enjoying the outdoors were great. Thank you!”

“Gorgeous view and perfect getaway. Very relaxing and refreshing. Can’t wait to be back!”

Published Mar 15, 2016

Lakeside Wonderland

Stayed Jul 2015
Joanne S.
5 of 5 Stars

“This place is amazing! Thanks so much for letting others experience it. We had so much fun and will definitely be back.”

Published Dec 31, 2015

Comments from the guest book

Stayed May 2015 
Steve S.
5 of 5 Stars

“Thank you for sharing your home with us! We enjoyed the lakefront views, walks on the beach and the serenity. We would love to come back!”

“The stars here are extraordinary!”

“Being here filled our hearts and souls and renewed our spirits – beautiful days!”

“Nature touched our spirits and reminded us of the presence of God.”

“Awesome family reset weekend at the shore, woods and lake. Beautiful place and cozy cabin.”

“Best camping spot we’ve ever had by Lake Superior. We usually camp at Judge Magney but opted for a cabin this year because this was our first trip up north with our one year old son. Not sure we will ever go back to camping because we enjoyed your home so much. Thanks for sharing it with us.”

“Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us, we were so comfortable right away – like a home away from home! I am so grateful to have spent my 50th birthday here, surrounded by such beauty and peace.”

“Such a great little cabin on the beautiful north shore. Love the beach and the lake breezes. Thank you for opening up your great spot to other families.”

Published Dec 31, 2015

Comments from the guest book

Stayed May 2015 
Steve S.
5 of 5 Stars

“Thank you for sharing your home with us! We enjoyed the lakefront views, walks on the beach and the serenity. We would love to come back!”

“The stars here are extraordinary!”

“Being here filled our hearts and souls and renewed our spirits – beautiful days!”

“Nature touched our spirits and reminded us of the presence of God.”

“Awesome family reset weekend at the shore, woods and lake. Beautiful place and cozy cabin.”

“Best camping spot we’ve ever had by Lake Superior. We usually camp at Judge Magney but opted for a cabin this year because this was our first trip up north with our one year old son. Not sure we will ever go back to camping because we enjoyed your home so much. Thanks for sharing it with us.”

“Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us, we were so comfortable right away – like a home away from home! I am so grateful to have spent my 50th birthday here, surrounded by such beauty and peace.”

“Such a great little cabin on the beautiful north shore. Love the beach and the lake breezes. Thank you for opening up your great spot to other families.”

Published Dec 31, 2015